What can be patented, and why is it necessary to do?
Intellectual property

What can be patented, and why is it necessary to do?

Creative and intellectual work in the form of new inventions can be protected by a patent. So, why is patenting attractive? Generally speaking, a patent protects an invention from copying illegal use and provides the owner with a kind of “monopoly.”

What is protected by a patent?

A patent can be obtained for various types of inventions: devices, technologies, substances, in some cases, for computer programs. To get a patent, an invention must meet specific criteria, including:

  1. “NOVELTY” – the absence of similar inventions in the world. They can consider both patent databases and open sources (books, articles, websites).
  2. “INVENTIVE LEVEL” – the difference between an invention and other existing ones.
  3. “INDUSTRIAL PRACTICE” – the possibility of using the invention in specific areas: medicine, agriculture, information technology, etc.

How to get a patent? I recommend starting with a patent search for similar and identical patents. This will help understand whether it is possible to obtain a patent for such an invention. If you have not found such inventions, you can apply for a patent. As a rule, a specialist in intellectual property, together with the inventor, helps draw up an application to avoid missing essential nuances.

Territorial principle. The effect of a patent extends to the territory of its registration. The rights that a patent gives you may not be recognized in all countries and associations but only in the territory defined by the patent itself.

It is not necessary to apply to all countries immediately. For example, after applying to Ukraine, the applicant will have 12 months to apply for the territories of interest.

Suppose you wish to obtain a patent in other countries. In that case, the applicant can apply under the international PCT system, which provides an additional 18 months to determine the countries/territories for filing applications with specific national/regional patent offices.

What rights does the patent owner get?

  • freely use the invention
  • to allow other persons to use the invention – to issue licenses
  • receive royalties
  • sell his intellectual rights to the invention
  • prohibit third parties from using the invention
  • demand in a compulsory (judicial) order: termination of the use of the invention and compensation for losses.

What is the duration of a patent? Patents are limited in terms of their validity period. For example, in Ukraine, the European Union, the Russian Federation, and other countries, the duration of patents for inventions cannot exceed 20 years.

To maintain a patent in force, the owner must pay annual fees. If fees are not paid on time, the patent will be invalid.

Protection from “patent trolls”

For inventors, the best solution would be not to disclose their developments, not to place them in the public domain, and to patent them before applying. This will help not to have restrictions and obstacles in the use of inventions in the future. After all, “know-how” can be appropriated as an unscrupulous counterparty, an employee, as well as a patent troll for the purpose of extortion.

If there are grounds, the patent can be canceled with the court’s help. But, as a rule, this is a lengthy process that requires considerable costs and forensic examinations.

Customs register as a means of protecting patent rights

The patent owner has the right to enter the patent in the customs register. This contributes to the detection of goods that infringe patent rights when transported across the border of Ukraine and/or other countries.

Upon detection of such goods, customs will be able to:

– temporarily suspend the import/export of goods across the border;

– destroy goods, the import/export (import/export) of which has been suspended by a court decision or other authorized body.

It is important to consider that with such a “stop” of goods at the border, the patent owner will need to promptly apply to the court and obtain a final injunction on the transportation of goods across the border.

If there are no patent infringements or the parties have settled the situation out of court, the right holder may allow the customs clearance of goods.

Can computer software be patented?

It has become possible to patent computer programs and related IT solutions relatively recently and with several restrictions. For patent protection, the following nuances must be taken into account:

  • a technical result is requested
  • patent protection cannot be granted to a software product solely because its use is made by means of a computer or other device
  • the protection may be granted to an “abstract idea” (calculus methods, algorithms, etc.) only if they contain an inventive step.

For many countries, it is necessary to associate a software product with a specific device (hardware). But there are exceptions, as in the United States, where software products “as is” can be patented.

In each case, we recommend analyzing the object of patenting and its constituent elements. In addition to patent protection, IT solutions can be protected by copyright (code, visual part, animations, designs, and other details).

How did patents help win in court?

Copying patented technologies is a basis for dispute. The nature, circumstances, and requirements in such disputes are different. Therefore, we will consider several well-known litigations in Ukraine and abroad.

For example, a dispute in the pharmaceutical market – Megainpharm GmbH vs. Darnitsa (Case No. 910/13320/13). Megainpharm GmbH achieved a ban on the use of the drug “Oftamirin” from “Darnitsa” and its withdrawal from commercial circulation, as it copied the patented claims (“Eye antiseptic”). In this category of cases, the key is always an expert opinion, which confirms copying.

From international practice, let’s pay attention to the following cases:

     1. Google vs. Oracle.

Google was accused of copying the Java programming language code and infringing patents. The bottom line is that when creating the Android operating system, an analog of Java was created. Oracle demanded $ 9 billion in compensation from Google. The dispute, in this case, is still ongoing. The result depends on whether the court recognizes that the Java language is provided as a product that falls under the category of “fair use” – the principle that particular patented inventions can be freely used.

Thus, if the invention is used illegally (without permission), you can demand a ban on the use and monetary compensation (for each case, the calculation of its amount is individual).

     2. Nokia vs Mercedes-Benz (Daimler AG).

The dispute between these companies is using Nokia navigation technologies in Mercedes-Benz vehicles from Daimler AG without a permit/license.

– Daimler AG’s position: obtaining a license from Nokia with fixed payments.

– Nokia’s position: granting a license under which payments are calculated as a percentage of each car sold.

The court recognized the illegality of the use of Nokia’s developments, noting that they can be used in cars only based on licenses. In this regard, there was a risk of a ban on the sale of certain models of Mercedes cars, but both sides still managed to agree. Nokia achieved the goal and protected its patent rights.

Conclusion

If a business creates, sells, or uses new products, then it is worth considering the possibility of protecting intellectual property rights. This can be helped by patents issued for devices, technologies, computer programs, and other objects.

With the receipt of a patent, the owner receives a “monopoly” on the use of his product in any legal way and the ability to protect patent rights from encroachment by third parties.

In addition to patents for inventions, do not forget about other components of products worth protecting. For example, the name – as a trademark, appearance – an industrial design, and copyright will help protect code, design, video, animation.

The material is prepared for MC.today

Link to the article

The author of the material is

Sergiy Barbashin – IT attorney, managing partner at Trustme Law Firm, Intellectual Property Expert

Что можно защитить патентом и зачем?
Інтелектуальна власність

Что можно защитить патентом и зачем?

Творческий и интеллектуальный труд в виде новых изобретений можно защитить патентом. Чем же привлекает патентование? В общем понимании, патент защищает изобретение от копирования, незаконного использования и предоставляет владельцу некую «монополию».

Что защищается патентом?

Патент можно получить на различные виды изобретений: устройства, технологии, вещества, в отдельных случаях компьютерные программы. Для получения патента, изобретение должно соответствовать определенным критериям, среди которых:

  1. «НОВИЗНА» – отсутствие тождественных изобретений в мире. Могут учитываться как патентные базы, так и открытые источники (книги, статьи, сайты);
  2. «ИЗОБРЕТАТЕЛЬСКИЙ УРОВЕНЬ» – наличие отличий изобретения от других существующих изобретений;
  3. «ПРОМЫШЛЕННАЯ ПРИМЕНИМОСТЬ» – возможность использования изобретения в определенных сферах: медицина, сельское хозяйство, информационные технологии и т.д.

Как получить патент? Рекомендуем начать с патентного поиска. Это делается для поиска схожих/тождественных патентов, чтобы понять, можно ли получить патент на такое изобретение. Если подобных изобретений не обнаружено, то можно подать заявку на патентование. Как правило, заявку помогает составлять специалист в сфере интеллектуальной собственности совместно с изобретателем, чтобы не упустить важные нюансы.

Территориальный принцип. Действие патента распространяется территорию регистрации. То есть вытекающие из патента права могут быть признаны не во всех странах (объединениях), а только в определенной самим патентом.

Необязательно сразу заявлять во все страны. К примеру, после подачи заявки в Украине у заявителя будет 12 месяцев, чтобы подать заявку на интересующие территории.

При желании получении патента в других странах заявитель может подать заявку по международной системе РСТ, которая предоставляет дополнительные 18 месяцев для определения стран/территорий для подачи заявок в конкретные национальные/региональные патентные ведомства.

Какие права получает владелец патента?

  • беспрепятственно использовать изобретение;
  • разрешать другим лицам использования изобретение – выдавать лицензии;
  • получать роялти;
  • продать свои интеллектуальные права на изобретение;
  • запрещать третьим лицам использовать изобретение;
  • требовать в принудительном (судебном) порядке: прекращения использования изобретения и компенсации убытков.

Какой срок действия патента? Патенты имеют ограничения в виде срока его действия. Например, в Украине, Европейском Союзе, Российской Федерации и других странах сроки действия патентов на изобретения не могут превышать 20 лет.

Для поддержания патента в силе, владелец должен ежегодно оплачивать сборы. Если своевременно не уплатить сборы – патент будет недействителен.

Защита от «патентных троллей»

Для изобретателей лучшим решением будет до подачи заявки – не разглашать свои разработки, не размещать в публичном доступе, и патентовать. Это поможет в будущем не иметь ограничений и препятствий в использовании изобретений. Ведь «ноу-хао» может присвоить себе как недобросовестный контрагент, сотрудник, так как патентный троль с целью вымогательства.

При наличии оснований, патент можно аннулировать с помощью суда. Но, как правило, это длительный процесс, который требуется немалых затрат и проведения судебных экспертиз.

Таможенный реестр, как средство защиты патентных прав

 Собственник патента имеет право внести патент в таможенный реестр. Это способствует обнаружению товаров, которые нарушают права на патент при их транспортировке через границу Украины и/или других стран.

При обнаружении таких товаров, таможня сможет:

– временно приостановить ввоз/вывоз товаров через границу;

– уничтожить товары, ввоз/вывоз (импорт/экспорт) которых приостановлен по решению суда или другого уполномоченного органа.

Важно учесть, что при такой «остановке» товаров на границе, собственнику патента нужно будет оперативно обратится в суд и получить окончательный судебный запрет на перевозку товаров через границу.

Если же нарушений патента нет или стороны урегулировали ситуацию в досудебном порядке, правообладатель может разрешить таможенное оформление товаров.

Подлежит ли патентованию компьютерное программное обеспечение?

Компьютерные программы и смежные ИТ-решения стало возможно патентовать относительно недавно и с рядом ограничений. Для патентной охраны необходимо учитывать следующие нюансы:

  • нужен технический результат
  • патентная охрана не может предоставляется программного продукта только потому, что её использование осуществляется с помощью компьютера или другого устройства
  • Охрана может предоставляться «абстрактной идее» (методам исчислений, алгоритмам и т.п.) исключительно при условии, что они содержат изобретательский уровень.

Для многих стран необходимо связать программный продукт с конкретным устройством (железом). Но бывают и исключения, как в США, где на программные продукты «как есть» можно получить патент.

В каждом случае рекомендуем анализировать объект патентования и его составляющие элементы. Помимо защиты патентом, ИТ-решения можно защищать авторским правом (код, визуальная часть, анимации, дизайны и прочие элементы).

Как патенты помогли выиграть в суде?

Копирование запатентованных технологий является основанием для спора. Характер, обстоятельства и требования в таких спорах разные, поэтому рассмотрим несколько известных судебных тяжб в Украине и зарубежном.

К примеру, спор на фармацевтическом рынке – Megainpharm GmbH vs «Дарница» (дело № 910/13320/13). Megainpharm GmbH добился запрета на использование лекарственного препарата «Офтамирина» от «Дарницы» и вывода его из коммерческого оборота, поскольку он копировал формулу изобретения («Глазной антисептик») защищенное патентом. В такой категории дел ключевым всегда есть экспертное заключение, которое подтверждает факт копирования.

 Из международной практики, обратим внимание на следующие дела:

  1. Google vs Oracle.

Google обвинили в копировании кода программного языка Java и нарушении патентов. Суть заключается в том, что при создании операционной системы Android был создан аналог Java. Oracle требовало от Google компенсировать $ 9 млрд. Спор по этому делу ещё продолжается. Результат зависит от того, признает ли суд, что язык Java предусмотрен как продукт, который подпадает под категорию «fair use» – принцип по которому определенные запатентованные изобретения можно свободно использовать.

Таким образом, если изобретение используют неправомерно (без разрешения) можно требовать потребовать не только запрета на использование, а и денежную компенсацию (для каждого дела расчет ее размера индивидуальный).

  1. Nokia vs Mercedes-Benz (Daimler AG).

Предметом спора этих компаний является использование навигационных технологий Nokia в автомобилях Mercedes-Benz от Daimler AG без разрешения / лицензии.

– Позиция Daimler AG: получение от Nokia лицензии с фиксированными платежами.

– Позиция Nokia: предоставление лицензии, по условиям которой размеры платежей исчисляются в процентах с каждого проданного автомобиля.

Суд признал неправомерность использования разработок Nokia, отметив, что их можно применять в автомобилях только на основании лицензий. В связи с этим, существовал риск запрета на продажу некоторых моделей автомобилей Mercedes, но обе стороны все же сумели договориться. По факту, Nokia достигла цели и защитила свои патентные права.

Заключение

Если бизнес создает, реализует или использует новые продукты, то стоит задуматься о возможности защиты прав интеллектуальной собственности. С этим могут помочь патенты, которые выдаются на устройства, технологии, компьютерные программы и прочие объекты.

С получением патента, собственник получает «монополию» на использование своего продукта любым законным способом и возможность защищать патентные права от посягательств третьих лиц.

Помимо патентов на изобретения, не стоит забывать и про другие составляющие продуктов, которые стоит защитить. Например, название – в качестве торговой марки, внешний вид – промышленный образец, а с защитой кода, дизайна, видео, анимации поможет авторское право.

Материал подготовлен для MC.today

Ссылка на статью

Автор материала:

Сергей Барбашин, адвокат по интеллектуальной собственности,

управляющий партнер Trustme Law Firm